Saba..Clarendon st.

I have to account for one of the best meals I have ever enjoyed in Dublin. This was at Saba on Clarendon st. Originally we were booked into Red Torch Ginger which ended up being closed due to a power cut. So Saba it was and the minute I walked in I just knew it was going to be a faultless meal.
We were guided to our seats and being caught up in the atmosphere I ordered a glass of prossecco and Ronan had a Chang beer.

To start we ordered

Tempura Nua Chua
Tempura soft shell crab with a mango, coriander, shallots and chilli salad.

Black Pepper Squid
Served with a ginger pepper sauce.

20130731-103233.jpg

20130731-103245.jpg

I particularly liked the soft shell crab and having had it in other places without the flavour this was extremely tasty.

To follow we ordered

A Cravat of Pinot Grigio.

Phad Prik Sod
Prawns With chillies, onions, peppers, mushrooms and sweet basil.

Hake Banana leaf
With a red curry sauce
all accompanied by boiled rice.

20130731-104315.jpg

I have to say the mains were beautiful and I ended up picking my way through my prawns and Ronan’s Hake. We finished up with two double espressos and with the bill coming to €100 euros I have to say the meal was worth every penny.

My highlight was the Hake…

My low point was not being aware you get so much Squid for a starter, really it was enough to share.

Overall the meal was beautiful. The flavours were on point. The staff were friendly, funny and efficient. If you don’t want to spend that sort of money then Saba offers early birds and lunch menus to the same quality. We were too late for any of these; which is how I’ve dined there before. ****www.sabadublin.com

Leave a Reply

