ely bar & braserrie

20130825-173312.jpgEly first came to my attention at Taste of Dublin a few years ago, the girls could vouch that I couldn’t leave the place without their famed burger. So when The Dining Room had a groupon for a 3 course meal for 2 with a bottle of wine@ €69. It was a no brainer to purchase it.

This voucher was valid for Ely Bar and brasserie in the IFSC which is one of three Elys in Dublin.

From the minute we were guided to our seats downstairs in the vaulted dining room I felt welcomed and relax. Our waitress was hands on and helpful even when I was indecisive in regards to my main.

I had the scallops to start which were cooked to perfection and my partner had the Duck leg salad which was described as tasty and fresh.

To accompany our meal we decided on the red Domaine Les Deux Cols ‘Cuvée d’Alize’ Côte du Rhône 2012 France.

For main I had the pan-fried veal rib eye and my partner had the Turbot. I found my steak perfectly cooked and as for the Turbot it’s one of the nicest pieces of fish I have ever tasted. Absolutely outstanding.

To be honest I’m not a dessert person but as it was part of the meal we decided to share the chocolate fondant. Which was just the right consistency of oozy chocolate ( bring me back there now).

Because we were only having one desert the waitress kindly suggested that we have out expressos as part of the deal. I just thought this was just another example of perfectly trained staff. It’s the little things.

My thoughts… Overall I couldn’t fault this meal it is definitely one of the best cooked dinners I’ve ever had. I liked the fact that you’re getting an honest plate of food and would definitely come here again and pay full price.  For more info have a look at their website
http://www.elywinebar.ie

Leave a Reply

