Terra Madre

Terra Madre

Terra Madre

Like I said before I love my food  best when it’s simple and tasty. And last Saturday it dawned on me that I was going back to the gym so that meant it was healthy eating for the next 5 out of the next 7 days. Oh Lordy !!!

Me being a planner, I decided that I was going to try this Italian that I just never got around to dining at for whatever reason….. Terra Madre (Mother Earth ), as a treat for what I was about to do to my body!!.

My first thought was? WHY WAS I NOT HERE BEFORE?

This place is located on Bachelors walk, blink and you will miss it. As you can see from my picture its downstairs and the best word I can use to describe it is cosy.

We booked a late meal on Halloween night of all nights but I can tell you now the only thing scary here is the amount of bread that was consumed.

To start…

Olivia and myself  both started with the bruschetta. Mine was called “Lardo di Colonnata ” This was a Tuscan delicacy made from pork fat which was delicious but I have to admit I robbed a little too much of Olivia’s “Talli di Cappero”.  These were wild caper sprouts harvested by hand, apparently they are very rare. Marco our waiter explained to us that you would have to forage in the mountain before dawn to get them. And they are only grown in certain parts of Italy. Well all I can tell you they were worth the effort. I was addicted!!

Wild caper sprouts

Wild caper sprouts

To Follow….

I had the Ravioli and Olivia opted for the Fettuccine.  My dish was just out of this world with the right amount of sauce the  Ravioli was filled perfectly. To be honest I ate this so slow because I just had to savour every mouthful. The Fettuccine was cooked to perfection al dente. If you look at the portions you could see they were the right amount of generous but we both observed after that we didn’t at any time feel bloated as can happen when you eat pasta. Once again Marco explained that the reason why pasta is cooked al dente isn’t just for the  bit of bite but  because its easier to digest which was new to me.

Beloved Carbs!!

Beloved Carbs!!

To accompany this we had a “couple” of glasses of  the Monteulciano d’Abruzzo. It is a mouthful I know but I would recommend this because going in I said sure I’ll have a glass and it tasted so good I ended up having three which defeats the point of not getting a bottle. But hey I’m easily led.

To finish…

As I said previously I usually only ever  have 2 courses and I was happy to just have another glass of wine but  it was suggested that Olivia should try the chocolate salami. Ah sure why not!! These were lovely although the only thing salami about them was the shape. But I have been dreaming about them ever since. The right amount of chocolate served with walnuts and hazelnuts smothered in honey.

Chocolate Salami

Chocolate Salami

The Verdict…

This restaurant has only been in Dublin 2 years and its reputation grows. This is the type of place where the food does the talking. I left with a longing to visit the south of Italy. The service was outstanding and educational. The atmosphere was warm and the décor was shabby chic. All these factors combine I think this is a must go place it is as Authentic as your going to get.

http://www.terramadre.ie

Terra Madre

Bachelors Walk, Dublin

IF you want you like this review be sure to follow me on Instagram THECARIBBEANDUB or Twitter @thecaribbeandub. Thanks TCDub….Love Dublin xx

 

One thought on “Terra Madre

Leave a Reply

