Papaya, Pawpaw or Pupaw

IMG_4943For me growing up in the Caribbean gave me the opportunity to pick a lot of fruits that I am now forking out a fortune for. My mam had a Papaya  tree in the garden and that was among one of my favourite fruits. Me and my brothers would collect almonds ourselves. Weirdly I can’t remember what my favourite sweet would’ve been at that time but I can list about 10 fruits. I guess it’s a cultural thing. Even now I would eat a fresh mango over any sweet.

This was one of my favourite fruits growing up. It’s a tropical fruits and for a while there I actually thought that I didn’t like it as the quality we were getting in Tesco’s was so bad. It was half the size of the ones I remembered and it was what we would call force ripe in Montserrat (picked when the fruit was too young).

I found a little shop just off the Ilac I think the owner is Pakistani well his cricket banter points in that direction. They do the nicest Papayas so sweet. Why am I taking about this fruit.. Well it’s good for you!

The papaya is a melon like fruit with yellow-orange flesh enclosed in a thin skin that varies in color from green to orange to rose. You could actually cook the green papayas in soups and such but that’s another story. Papayas are a rich source of vitamin A and C. One half of a small papaya can provide 150% of the recommended daily dietary intake of Vitamin C. It is low in calories, fat-free, cholesterol free, and a good source of potassium, folate, and fibre.

So next time you having a fruit salad why not add a little something from the tropics.

See you tomorrow! Thanks for reading TCDud xxx

 

Leave a Reply

